Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

Need some help with my decision on boat

2K views 20 replies 14 participants last post by  dwyermw 
#1 ·
I am almost ready to pull the trigger and need a little insight. First, let me air some laundry so you know a bot more from my perspective.
I am a DFW area transplant from coastal Texas. I have built a life here with my wife and two kids, one who is a senior at A&M and the other in middle school. I am a teacher who spends my free time fishing and hunting. I am pretty hardcore in regards to both. I take an international trip every 5 years and go to the roughest ends of the earth to fish. It works out well because I hire locals to not subsistence fish and take me with them instead. My wife works for an airline, so travel is not a big expense. Tackle, visas and food are the lion's share. Each trip is an absolute adventure and usually I sleep under the stars, eat with locals around open fires and cast to fish which have never seen a lure. These are some of my best memories aside from those built with my family
Being a teacher, I am very conservative with my funds. I have paid off my home, drive my trucks 10+ years, only eat meat I hunt and have owned my current boat for 17 years. It is a 18' aluminum tunnel hull that floats in 5" of water. I don't carry debt and pride myself with that. The only debt I have is my truck. My biggest payment is my son's college and we planned for it. He is a brilliant kid and the best son anyone could ask for. He earned a scholarship and we pay the deficit. He also works as an EMT to help.