My Wedge reviews

Discussion in 'Outboard Maintenance' started by AfterHours2, Feb 3, 2015.

1. AfterHours2

AfterHours2 Stripper in my own Mind!

Anybody use one of these? I can't utilize a traditional transom saver due to trailer issues but want something to protect the motor while trailering. I've also read that you could cut 2 pieces of heavy duty conduit and slide it over the trim rams. Any ideas..

2. suvtillerdriver

suvtillerdriver 2015 SUV 17

I have one and it is very easy to use. I'm new to boats so I don't have any other comparisons but it is definitely easier to use than the traditional one. It is firm but has some shock absorbency to it.

3. hferrell87

hferrell87 Well-Known Member

Hey, I just got a M-y Wedge a few weeks back cause I was worried that the engine brackets weren't supporting the outboard good enough. Extremely easy to use and does a good job. I feel a lot better about traveling longer distances without cringing every time I hit a nasty bump in the road, while looking through the rear view mirror!

That being said... The first thing that came to mind when I opened the package was, "This hunk of dense rubber cost $45!!". Very simple design and I'm sure it can be mimicked.

It does a great job and makes for quicker prepping at the ramp and peace of mind on the road!

4. AfterHours2

Thx guys. I really wasn't too worried at first but there is a bridge off of Hwy 50 on the way to the Lagoon that will cause all kind of havoc on your rig. I went over it easy going east but on the way back west, forgot to slow down and saw my motor bouncing pretty good. I'll probably get a wedge and use tie downs to secure the motor..

5. cutrunner

cutrunner Cert. Yamaha technician

After hours
    I got one you can have for free, just pm your adress

6. firecat1981

firecat1981 BBA Counselor