Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ive been tossing the idea of a skiff around for several years now and I’m about to pull the trigger I believe..one question I have is about my old Johnson 50 and whether or not I should buy a boat with a motor or use the one I have..I bought a custom flat center console jon boat about 4 years ago from an elderly man in a town nearby..gave very little for it..turns out the motor was like brand new said my boat mechanic..that motor has been nothing but good to me..starting everytime and running flawless..I’m buying a used skiff of course but should I buy one with a motor or strap the Johnson to her and role out ..personal opinions thoughts anything is acceptable on this thread I’d like to hear it!! Thanks tight lines

·
Lowcountry Degen
1,707 Posts
I don't know about the smaller engines, but I had a pair of older (2000) Johnson 130s on my bigger boat a little while back. My experience has been that they are great motors, easy to work on, but loud and thirsty. I know there are other qualities that matter more for skiffs (weight, for example), but I never paid much attention to that with my bigger boat.

·
1652 G3, & 1756 Lowe tinnys
776 Posts
I have a 96 Johnson that works like a charm. I'll replace it when I have to, not before. I do have to mix the oil, but that is no big deal.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
The boat it’s on now for sure weighs double what the skiff I’m looking at weighs maybe even 3 times as much and i get around 30 with my regular load..I’m looking for 40mph out of the new boat..will I get it? ‍♂

B

·
0 Posts