matt clear coat for camo?

Discussion in 'Boat Yard Basics' started by david_kohler, Oct 16, 2013.

1. david_kohler

david_kohler I Love microskiff.com!

I got my boat and pieces primed with rustoleum topside primer and I started painting the base camo color on the bow electrial panel.  The paint seams like it will scratch off easily, is there a matt coating that people use to protect it.  If not I think I might just paint it with topside paint. 

2. DuckNut

DuckNut Brandon, FL

If you are looking for a hunting boat- no.

If the paint scratches off, it is the prep that is usually to blame (sometimes the paint, but usually the prep) and no amount of anything over the top will solve that.

3. david_kohler

Thanks Ducknut!

I'm not able to scratch it off.  I should have said I did the sideways finger nail test and I could make a mark, althought I painted it at 8pm last night and tested it a 7am today. I'm just worried about dropping stuff and having scratches everywhere. I will use the boat 95% of the time for fishing, so I'm not sure if I should continue with the plan.  I read that people use Brownells clear matt on guns to protect the krylon camo paint.  I think it not being a gloss finish makes it less scratch resistant.  It also seams that it is very pourous and would stain.  I might just go with a regular paint job.  I did just buy and paint the test piece with krylon clear matt.  We will see how that works.  The brownells is epoxy based.

http://www.brownells.com/gunsmith-tools-supplies/metal-prep-coloring/paint-finishes/air-cure-aerosol-paints/aluma-hyde-reg-ii-prod1117.aspx

4. whm302

whm302 I Love microskiff.com!

2 things.. number one the rustoleum prolly hasn't had enough time to fully cure especially if you didn't add any enamel hardner to it.. i have seen ppl say it takes 10+ days to reach max cure.. #2 i have painted several duck boats with Parkers duck boat paint and had great results and very durable. check them out