Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner
1 - 20 of 75 Posts

·
Registered
251 Posts
Costa is now just a brand for one of the mega glass companies. It will all be off-shored. Maui Jim as far as I know is still a small, US based sunglass company.

"Charenton-le-Pont France-based Essilor acquired Costa in 2014, three years after buying another local sunglass company, StyleMark, which was based at the Ormond Beach airport business park.

Essilor merged with Italy-based Luxottica in 2017 to create the world’s largest maker of sunglasses, prescription and reading glasses and contact lenses. The combined company’s brands include Oakley, RayBan, Michael Kors and LensCrafters."

·
Registered
37 Posts
I've been wearing the same pair of Costa glasses for 15 years. Been through 2 sets of lenses and 3-4 sets of arms. On the last reorder of arms I was informed they no longer make my model (wave killers). I bought three sets. I was also informed that this was their number one seller.....my reply was " y'all discontinued your #1 seller?" She said it seems so. Still doesn't make sense to me

·
Registered
1,459 Posts
I used to like them

Sent my fathoms in a few years ago and they sent me the new style fathoms with a rubber nose piece. It was a downgrade from the old ones. I use them as a backup pair on the boat but that's about it.

They did save my eye from an accident once. I was running a tiller and I hit something which sent my head into the battery that I hadn't permanently mounted yet. I did get a cut above my eye from the frame but the lens didn't break and my eye was fine. The Costas were fine.

My favorite thing about Costa was the automated recording they had. "It's summer and everyone is breaking their glasses" then it would roll into Jimmy buffet or the like.

I wear Maui Jim's now and haven't thought about glasses since

·
I Love microskiff.com!
642 Posts