Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner
1 - 20 of 57 Posts

· Registered
2022 Skimmer Skiff 16’6” - 2022 Suzuki DF60A
260 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Why is it that I have noticed that the actual weight in grams for these fly lines are always more than the general number in all of the Flyline charts that I have come across to the point where it seems like we should be using a 7 weight line on an 8 weight rod, because the true weight of these 7 weight lines is actually an 8 weight grain.

Hopefully that made sense, are there people out there that go up or down a size and have a mixed match set up?

· I Love microskiff.com!
221 Posts
I’m no expert but I have been dabbling in SWFF for 12 years now. It seems the line makers have made the lines heavier to load the newer stiffer action rods more quickly. This makes them more user friendly to newbies and ideally (for rod and line manufacturers) gets more people to fly fish. I try to use bonefish and tarpon lines on most of my rods as they are close to the true line weight. Rio seem to be heavier across the board in the SW lines. I don’t under line a rod, hasn’t worked well in the past. Just my 2 cents.

· Registered
2020 Chittum Mangrove
1,561 Posts
You're correct on your observation. I think everything is basically a rod and line heavier than older rods.

I have some older Sage RPLX rods and underline those with modern lines.

The other thing to consider is if you're making quick short casts versus long casts where you're carrying more line in the air.

· Registered
Chittum-LM Beavertail B2 Sold Aug 2021
364 Posts
Why is it that I have noticed that the actual weight in grams for these fly lines are always more than the general number in all of the Flyline charts that I have come across to the point where it seems like we should be using a 7 weight line on an 8 weight rod, because the true weight of these 7 weight lines is actually an 8 weight grain.