Help for a good cause

Discussion in 'Tournaments' started by pete_paschall, Aug 9, 2012.

1. pete_paschall

pete_paschall I Love microskiff.com!

Hey guys,

I need some help...

My name is Pete and I am a 5th grade teacher in Hampstead, NC.  The year before last, I taught a girl named Kimberly Batchelor.  Last year, she was diagnosed with cancer and has spent the last year going back and forth to Chapel Hill for treatments.  Her father passed away a few years ago, so her mother is dong all she  can to make ends meet.

The community here has stepped up big time with fund raisers to try to help the family (you can check out the Fighting for Kimberly Batchelor Facebook page for more info.).  The idea was floated to do a fishing tournament fund raiser for the family, and it has come my way.  I'd like to make this happen.  Here's where I need some help...

My only tournament experience is guiding in the Cape Fear Red/Trout tournament by Redbone that raises money for Cystic Fibrosis.  I know nothing about organizing such an event, so I am in over my head.  But I am determined to make this happen.

I have a tournament format in mind, and have contacted some local guys in the "business", but could sure use any suggestions or resources that you could provide.  Anything from suggestions of what to do (or what NOT to do) to ideas for prizes, vendors for tournament shirts, or anything else that I am not smart enough to think of at this point.  Thanks for any help you can provide!

Pete

2. skinny_water

skinny_water Well-Known Member

I will send over a variety pack fly box for ya. Keeps money out of the awards and allows you to give more to the family. I have you adress still, (not in a creepy stalker way).

3. pete_paschall

Awesome! Thanks, Richard!

4. JRyanL

JRyanL I Love microskiff.com!