Help: Checking for water in the hull?

Discussion in 'Boat Yard Basics' started by pparfomak, Jan 2, 2012.

1. pparfomak

pparfomak I have no idea what I'm doing here

So I just bought a used Peenoe 15'11" SportCanoe.  I got a good deal but the hull needs some work--there is a poor repair on the "keel" by the prior owner and there have been some chips on the outside edges.

http://i1229.photobucket.com/albums/ee469/pparfomak/IMAG0104.jpg

I noticed that the boat feels too heavy to me.  Is it possible that water got into the double hull around the flotation? If so, how would I check for that and what could I do about it?  Do they use a closed cell material for flotation or could it get saturated like a sponge?  I'm totally new to this, so I would be grateful for your experience.

-Spud

2. Brett

Brett > PRO STAFF <

Worrying about water logged foam, is like questioning at the ramp, "is the wind blowing too hard to go fishing?"

If you have to think about it, it probably is... :'(

Only way I know to check for wet foam is to drill a hole,
    preferably in a spot where it's easy to fix,
    and low enough on the hull, that water will drain out of it if present.

3. firecat1981

firecat1981 BBA Counselor

Post a picture of the boat when you can, cause if it is the model I'm thinking of I don't think it has a liner (double hull). What makes you think it is too heavy? Is it slow in the water? hard to launch?
    If it is the 3 bench model then the floatation will be in the seats I think. If so even if the foam is totally water logged then it might add maybe 40lbs or so and wouldn't make a huge difference. You didn't say what power you are using, it may just be a little underpowered.

4. pparfomak

Well, it's supposed to be 126 lbs, I think, but it feels a bit heavier, just carrying it. I haven't floated it yet (just brought her home yesterday).  Here's a pic of the boat:
    [​IMG]