Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Forgive me if I’m overlooking my answer, but I’m new to the skiff world. I’ve searched and searched on people attaching grab bars with yeti cradle similar what’s on the Drake Outlaw. I messaged Richard and I received two replies he didn’t sell parts and he didn’t work on older models in hindsight. My concern is the floor flex in the boat (which I read is normal) what’s the best way/easiest way to mount a grab bar and yeti and will it hurt my hull since it’s designed to flex?
Thanks!

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The floor appears to be double walled. I was thinking rivet nuts. I guess my next option be to build a false floor.

·
I Love Skinny Water
6,067 Posts
Mount the grab rail on a heavy cooler then strap the cooler down with Kennedy tie downs. Better than drilling big holes in the floor

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
The issue with drilling in tie downs on the karma is that the floors are too thin.
Yeah there’s not much meat there. Im assuming the boats that are designed with grab handles have false floors or stringers or something to support the weight. Im taking it to a glass shop Monday to discuss my options. False floor will be nice to hide wires for a fish finder on grab rail.

·
I Love microskiff.com!
1,561 Posts
Epoxy some blocks in to floor. I can remember the name of them but simeone on here will. @Whiskey Angler did that on his gladesman.
I embedded 3/8" phenolic blocks into my cored floor.
See here ...https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0013HQ6ZM/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_search_asin_title?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I used a zip bit on my dremel to cut out the top layer of glass (about 1/8" to 3/16" thick) from the cored floor, then scraped out the foam core. Then i poured a thin bed of epoxy into the cutout area, set the phenolic blocks in it, and then filled up the voids around the edges of the blocks with thickened epoxy.