Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
332 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I've been teaching for 30 years and every spring my seniors experience "Senioritis". Although I understand it, I vaguely remember the feeling. I've come to realize at 62 years young I'm experiencing it right now. I have two weeks left before I retire and the feelings I'm experiencing are a mix of uncertainty and excitement. There is one thing for sure (my wife pointed it out), I have an entirely new life a head of me filled with exploring new areas to fish, people to meet and flies to tie.
Its a little weird, the uncertainty of it all, the lack of structure and not giving a shit about time or dates but instead using tides and moons to determine where I'm at any given time. I'm so looking forward to getting the hell out of this shit hole and surround myself with like minded people.
If I should feel the need to be of service in some capacity, I may operate a water taxi, our private boat from Island to mainland and maybe volunteer with the LE marine division.
Either way 8 more class days and I'm finally free from this shit.

·
Registered
1,294 Posts
..., the lack of structure ...
For someone who has gone to work every day for years, you will probably feel lost, lazy and irresponsible. Like you ought to be doing some work but you just don't know what it is. Feel free to get a real estate agent license to give you something to piddle at on bad wx days.

·
Registered
1999 Carolina Skiff 16
1,178 Posts
I retired from public work at age 62, 3 years ago. I still get the urge to find something "constructive" to do. I do fish more, work on my boat, tend my yards more, and do not regret for a minute retiring when I did. I do want a "project" like rebuilding a small skiff, maybe a small tractor. I love those old red belly Fords. Sounds like you have it figured out, enjoy your new life!

·
Registered
332 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·