Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,152 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've pretty much decided to go with a Blue Sea w/neg for a fuse box unless someone knows of a better one (corrosion resistant ).

I've no experience with LED lighting...
I have plenty of space under the gunwale (about 25" above the deck) and think I could easily string LED's.
What color LED's provide good lighting.

(floor and hull wall are going to be light/medium grey color)

·
Banned
12,342 Posts
Red is easiest on the eyes and won’t kill your night vision. Had green and blue and they are a bit harsh for functionality over bling factor.
Blue Seas makes great stuff.

·
Premium Member
2,152 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Red has always been the "go to" for night lighting on the water, just looking to see what others have tried.

Also thinking to put a small white flood light w/spring loaded clamp, maybe attachable to the uhf antenna or bimini top.
Would make rod rigging at 0 dark 30 easier.

·
Banned
12,342 Posts
Red has always been the "go to" for night lighting on the water, just looking to see what others have tried.

Also thinking to put a small white flood light w/spring loaded clamp, maybe attachable to the uhf antenna or bimini top.
Would make rod rigging at 0 dark 30 easier.
Some of these LEDs are so small, bright and weatherproof that I wouldn’t hesitate mounting one permanently for rigging like that. I don’t recommend Oznium aluminum light bars for under gunnel, I’ve gone through two sets on both boats in 6 years. I’d do the puck style or other more waterproof options Oznium sells.

·
Premium Member
2,152 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Oznium 11mm w/lens looks like a winner. I think I'll order a few to test them. (I'll look at a few more brands first, but I like the way they look)