Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Premium Member
420 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 6gl portable tank that I want to mount up front for ballast reasons (pic below).
I added a 10' 3/8" fuel line to the tanks feed/fuel line and when running 1/2 throttle it did ok.
When I opened her up it ran good and then I could see I had to pump the primer bulb to keep it going.
I really would like to mount it up front but since my experience mentioned above, I removed the 3/8 line (except for a short piece) and running the stock length/6'.
Question is:
1. If you are running a forward portable tank, how are you maintaining the fuel feed?
2. Are any of you running a electric pump, if so, what, or what pound pump?
3. If running an electric pump, won't it push to much against the carb and cause a forced flooding of the motor since it is a small outboard (I don't think so but then again I'm not a outboard mechanic?
Thanks,

View attachment 5649

Boat
View attachment 5650

·
Registered
87 Posts
It could be the filter you have on the line.

Also you have a new epa tank it looks like. I took my cap apart and removed the check valve in it to make it breathe. Also it dont swell up anymore.

·
BBA Counselor
6,755 Posts
You have to many joints in the system and need to trouble shoot. None of us run a seperated electric pump. My tank has, if memory serves, 14ft of A1 3/8" fuel line, and I've never had an issue. Take out the short splice, and the lawn mower style fuel filter and try it again.

·
Registered
4,249 Posts
Years and years ago I ran a 16' aluminum skiff (an old Starcraft we built a bonefish interior for -decked front and rear with two portable six gallon tanks all the way forward - so a 13 to 14 foot fuel line to the rear....). The old BoneBreaker had a 55hp Evinrude motor on it and that setup worked just fine...