Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Fly-By-Night
3,169 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, bass guys, what is your go to frogging rod?

I have a Dobyn's Sierra 766 Heavy/Fast casting rod. It's listed as a flipping rod, but will this work double duty as a decent frog rod?

All opinions welcome. Thanks

·
Fly-By-Night
3,169 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I'm kinda new to bass fishing, I haven't used the rod at all yet, but I plan on seeing how it casts a frog in the next couple afternoons if I get a chance.

Fwiw the rod they market and people like as a frog rod is listed as a Mag Heavy/Extra Fast.

·
Registered
765 Posts

·
Registered
765 Posts
To answer your other questions if you do not want to build. Yes the 766 will work as a frog rod but will be a heavier power frog rod than you would typically think of but no reason it wouldn't work. It might supper in up close accuracy but that would have to be a feel thing. Might be harder to load at close distances.

The other rod you mention sounds to be a little closer to what you could want. Personally, I don't like an X-Fast for a frog but then again so many manufactures list something as an extra fast but in reality it is not. I think you are on the right track so far and will probably realize both rods have their place for a frog and something else.

·
Fly-By-Night
3,169 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Depends on how beefy you want.
I use the MHX MB874 because I like the 7'3". Some use the MB904 as they want 7'6". If you want to go a little beefier and also use it to flip and pitch 3/8-1oz or also throw a whopper plopper use the FP885 at 7'4" it is badass.

Links :https://www.mudhole.com/MHX-MB874-Mag-Bass-Rod-Blank
https://www.mudhole.com/MHX-MB904-Mag-Bass-Rod-Blank
https://www.mudhole.com/MHX-Flippin-Pitching-Rod-Blank-FP885-MHX-74-1pc-12-25-lb
Thanks for the info.