Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
240 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Would like to know what you are using to tie flies. I have been using a Griffin Patriot Vise for about 30 years. I paid $90 for it back in 1989 and it is a rotary vise and will hold just about any hook and has jaws that came with it for flies using < 22 size hooks. It is still going strong but I have never really liked where it clamps on the hook and have always liked the Renzetti style Travelers vise but not the tension band that it uses. The jaws are really good and you can bend a hook in them without it moving. Has anyone here used the Griffin Odyssey Spider vice and what do you think about it? I know it also has a tension band but it is a bit less money than a Travelers and I already have the base for the Griffin.

A

·
0 Posts
I use a peak rotary vice I picked up used on ebay. Cost $130 and came with a lower end fly tying kit and a bunch of material for tying freshwater flies. I used the piss out of it and it still works fine... Just replaced all my hand tools with nicer stuff.

Might be sacrilegious here but I don't see the value in spending a $600+ on a vice that does the same exact thing as mine. It holds a hook and spins.

·
Registered
30 Posts
I own a DynaKing Trekker, have used a Renzeetti Traveler and Peak. If i was to do it again, i'd pick the Peak in a heartbeat. I think build quality is comparable to the other 2, I like the jaws much more than either of the others, has a heavier base, and its much cheaper.

·
Registered
338 Posts