Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
199 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’m looking for a little help with fly line choice, right now I’m using rio avid saltwater line, but I’m looking to get some new line for a new 8 wt I will be getting after the Holliday’s. I’ve been fly fishing for 6-7 months now would consider myself an intermediate caster. Just looking for a good overall fly line, to be used year round I live in SE Georgia so we can get cold in the winter, thank you guys for the help!!

·
I Love microskiff.com!
1820 Action Craft
791 Posts
If you provide the rod you will be putting it on, someone in this group will be able to offer you some advice. You are doing good, I have been casting the long rods for over 30 years and I consider myself an intermediate caster on a good day.

·
Registered
199 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
If you provide the rod you will be putting it on, someone in this group will be able to offer you some advice. You are doing good, I have been casting the long rods for over 30 years and I consider myself an intermediate caster on a good day.
Haha well then maybe I should consider myself a beginner caster, I will be using an axiom 2

·
Registered
757 Posts
I have a Redington Predator rod with Behemoth reel in 8wt, and I like the Rio Gold floating line. I'm using it for striper in fresh and will be using it in salt for reds as well. I cant afford specific lines for both right now. The Gold series is good stuff.

·
Registered
199 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I have a Redington Predator rod with Behemoth reel in 8wt, and I like the Rio Gold floating line. I'm using it for striper in fresh and will be using it in salt for reds as well. I cant afford specific lines for both right now. The Gold series is good stuff.
Okay good to know I really enjoy the avid saltwater I’m just wanted to see if I was missing anything not trying others haha I’m with you thought I don’t wanna buy specific lines

G

·