Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Bait Hater
553 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
What is everyone’s “go to” lens/focal length for grip and grin style photos as well as photos of their skiff and similar shots?

Thanks,
T

·
I Love microskiff.com!
707 Posts
Wide zoom: roughly 10-20mm on crop body or 16-35mm on full-frame.

·
Bait Hater
553 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Anyone else?

I am trying to get some new glass for my Sony A6000. I am fairly new to the whole photography game but would like to upgrade from my kit lens. Current lenses are 16-50 kit lens and 55-210 kit lens. I like the sharpness of the 55-210 but sometimes the focal length can be too close. The 16-50 leaves a lot to be desired.

Looking specifically at the Sigma 16mm 1.4 and Sigma 30mm 1.4. Thoughts between the two?

Thanks,
T

·
I Love microskiff.com!
707 Posts
Personally, I would look at a zoom for your everyday lens. Especially on a small boat, where you have limited room to move around in relation to your subject.

I have the Sigma 30mm f/1.4. I like it a lot for people and pets on a crop body camera (which your a6000 is), but I rarely take it on the water. It's a little tight for shooting fish and people pics on the skiff.

For a first upgrade from kit lenses, I'd be looking at a good quality f/2.8 standard zoom, like the 17-50mm Sigma. That's the equivalent of around 27-80mm full-frame. In other words, very similar to the 24-70mm f/2.8 lenses that are kind of the foundation of a good lens selection for a full-frame camera.

You don't really need anything faster than f/2.8 for 99% of outdoor shooting, so I wouldn't be worrying about f/1.4 and 1.8 lenses.

Image stabilization, on the other hand, is a big deal in my experience. I find I'm frequently shooting right on the edge of being able to hold the camera still at dawn and dusk, and image stabilization makes a real difference there.