Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
280 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I recently took my 07 etec 115 in for diagnostics as I am trying to sell my action craft. Turns out I have 2 cylinders with low compression . Here are the number from the leakdown test
1-60 @ 95%
2-120 15%
3-60 94%
4-120 25%
The engine still starts good, and will push boat low 40s at 5400rpm. Sometimes it will die when moving from neutral to fast idle.

So I guess my question is what would you guys recommend doing with motor? Motor has about 1000 hrs. Im not a mechanic, nor do I know anyone who buys older used motors. I lowered my asking price on boat 3k and let everyone know what's up in my Craigslist add, but I would like some other opinions. Not wanting to repower since I would feel like I had to keep boat them.

·
Banned
12,342 Posts
Call a shop that overhauls outboards and see if they will bore it out or sleeve those two and replace rings? I don’t know how Etecs like being rebuilt.

·
Banned
276 Posts
So I recently took my 07 etec 115 in for diagnostics as I am trying to sell my action craft. Turns out I have 2 cylinders with low compression . Here are the number from the leakdown test
1-60 @ 95%
2-120 15%
3-60 94%
4-120 25%
The engine still starts good, and will push boat low 40s at 5400rpm. Sometimes it will die when moving from neutral to fast idle.

So I guess my question is what would you guys recommend doing with motor? Motor has about 1000 hrs. Im not a mechanic, nor do I know anyone who buys older used motors. I lowered my asking price on boat 3k and let everyone know what's up in my Craigslist add, but I would like some other opinions. Not wanting to repower since I would feel like I had to keep boat them.