Discuss...

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by St._Sophie_Girl, Jan 17, 2008.

1. Well everyone... not to start anything controversial or created a heated debate.. But this year will be the first year I will be able to vote for president(Wow I feel young!!). I know it's getting down to crunch time and I don't have the time or patience to watch CNN everyday. But I'm curious to see what you all on this forum are looking for in the canidates. I know personally I would like to know their position on the space program since it is crucial here.. and I would like to hear your opinions as well! Please discuss.. :D

2. brew1891

brew1891 Well-Known Member

I will vote for anyone who does not want to take my hard earned money and give it to someone that did not earn it! I vote with my checkbook like most americans...as the saying goes "it's the economy stupid!" Even though I have a political science degree from UF and we studied all kinds of trends and reasons why people vote certain ways...to me it still comes down to the allmighty dollar. Just look at the current tax codes...the "wealthy" line is ridiculously low and based on 1970's standards.

Unfortunately for me there is no perfect candidate. Most democratic candidates want to take all of my money even though they say otherwise...and most republican candidates come with other baggage such as legislating morality and all of the other religious right agenda. But in the end I will have to deal with the "morality" side of the Republican party just to keep my money where it belongs...in the pockets of my wife and daughter ;D

ok im off my soapbox and sophie im sorry i really didnt answer your question and now i feel really old...thanks!

3. chandler27

chandler27 Well-Known Member

My first year to vote for president too. Trying to keep up with everything does get confusing. :eek: I'll probably worry about it more after the primaries. ;)

4. mygheenoe1

mygheenoe1 Well-Known Member

5. Ron_W.

Ron_W. Well-Known Member