Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

Difference between SA Mastery and SA mastery that's a couple years old?

1K views 7 replies 5 participants last post by  zlenart1 
#1 ·
is there really a difference between the SA mastery series saltwater for this year and a couple years ago?

I need to buy new fly line and I want to spend around $55 or less on it. I found some SA mastery saltwater from a couple years ago for this price and was wondering if it's a good deal. Or if you guys have any suggestions on better deals
thanks

#2 ·
Can't tell you whether an older line (new, old stock) is as good as a current offering - but I have had some experience buying older lines -and it wasn't good.... Found a handful of "close out" lines (Scientific Anglers, of course) at my long time tackle shop. They were clearly old lines, at least ten years old. Great price, but they didn't hold up well at all -the plastic coating was just plain brittle compared to a new line (and there's the problem - every plastic made these days has a planned lifespan and will simply begin to fall apart after a certain number of years). Hope this helps

#3 ·
Yea I'm agreeing with Capt Lemay if the lines are older then say 4 to 5 years old, then I would stay away from them.  I can see where Bob had a problem with 10yr old line.  The coating is poly and tends to dry out over time.  However, I've had lines that lasted over 10 years because I dress the snot outta them before I store them back up.  Keeps em from dryin out!