Copperhead Prop Suggestions

Discussion in 'Prop Shop' started by Gonefishin, Apr 30, 2010.

1. Gonefishin

Gonefishin Since retiring, I live to fish!

This is my first attempt at proping out a small engine. The boat is a Copperhead. The engine 30hp Tohatsu 4-stroke. RPM range 5250-6250. The current prop is 9.9x12 aluminum 3 blade came with the motor. It turns around 5300-5400 RPM with me solo in the boat. That gives me about 850 RPM to work with. At the present RPM speed by GPS is 30 MPH. Got 31 a couple times before the prop met the oysters a few times. Now, speed is ok, however I go to fish not race. So here is what I am looking for improved hole shot with reasonable speed for crossing the bay. The boat has tabs and the engine is power tilt/trim. I am thinking maybe a 4 blade stainless for a little more lift at the transom. Any suggestions on pitch, diameter, cupping, etc, and manufacturer?

Thanks for any help. [smiley=1-mmm.gif]

2. iMacattack

iMacattack busy, too busy

http://www.ptprop.com/component/option,com_artforms/formid,4/Itemid,60/

Go here, fill it out. Mention microskiff sent you and ask for Marcus.

3. Flyline

Flyline Won "Do More With Less" Award!

I would leave it alone and get a jackplate to gain more speed and shallower. the jackplate will makes your RPM spins faster then u can work with the propeller last.

I will go for Powertech SRA 10 X 11" pitch 4 blade polished stainless steel proppeller with NO cup.....yet.

4. paint it black

paint it black Paddling away...

I'm going to keep an eye on this thread, for I have been thinking about changing the prop on my Copperhead as well.

5. Gonefishin