Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm starting a Conchfish build with my son, its really his build, I'm a General Contractor, I have some good skill sets with wood construction but not a lot with fiberglass ,composite and epoxy resins. I reached out to CM on what would be the best brands of material to use, he suggested we try on this forum. My son has the stations cut out and would soon be ready to begin stripping. He wants to use epoxy over core, any help on material selection will appreciated.

Thanks Craig

·
BBA Counselor
7,230 Posts
If you are in florida, I've been buying supplies from FGCI for years and am a big fan of their 2:1 laminating resin. It's very forgiving and gives you consistently good work time. They have most of the other goodies you need as they supply a lot to many of the boat builders through the state.

·
Banned
12,342 Posts
There are several full build threads on here and the guys are very responsive to questions, especially Morejohn. I may do a build in a couple of years and have been making notes.

·
Registered
310 Posts
Conchfish 16
I used 9 sheets. Carbon core pvc 3/4” would work great you would have to modify the plans a bit to use 3/4” on the chines.
Boat builders supply marine epoxy worked for me 18 gallons slow hardner
80yrds 10oz eglass
12lbs 3m glass balloons
2lbs silica
1lb milled glass for fairing the bow

·
Registered
609 Posts
First, never take my opinion over Sethsawyer’s, followed by anyone else.

That said, I’m using CarbonCore 3/4” PE foam: http://www.carbon-core.com/product/pe-structural-foam-sheets/