Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I have been fishing with fly rod almost exclusively for the last 3 years... but been into it for the last 6 years.
I am what I call an "ever improving caster"... better than a novice but not an expert by any means.

I currently have three outfits- BVK 8 WT (reel and matching rod) with Airlflow bonefish (I am pretty sure that is the line)
Redington Predator 6 wt w Redington Vice reel and forget the line...
and a Scott Tidal 8 wt w Nautilus reel w Wulff BTT.

I love all three and cast all reasonably well... but each needs a little different stroke to get the optimal casting from it.

My oddity is that my BVK, which I probably cast the best- has a persistent issue with the hook catching the shooting head as it rolls out the loop.
I can make this rod throw 80 feet pretty easily and with very tight loops... but 1/3 of my casts, the hook will nail the line on the longer cast roll outs. Occasionally I will get the hook to hit the rod. I have tried to switch up my stroke speed, or cast with the rod less vertical, or even changing the rod tips final position at the end of the cash (higher and lower) to see if that will correct it. It doesn't seem to work.
I have in the past switched the BVK reel w the Nautilus and the issue goes away... but when I put the BVK rod reel together it seems to happen.

Is this something w the line perhaps? Is it my stroke not being in a straight enough line left to right!?!
I see the shooting head dance a lot side to side on the casts where the whole shooting head is out. The Wulff line does not seem to move as much left to right on the casts.

I love all three rods and cast them all pretty good... but this has really become something I am noticing a lot now that I lawn cast a lot more. Previously I thought it an oddity, but now I see a pattern.

·
Registered
163 Posts