Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,
I'm new to this forum and just signed up to hopefully get some good advice from ya. So here it is, I just recently purchased a carolina skiff to have as an option for places I cannot or do not want to get my boat into, and have to bring up to a lake house so I don't have to trailer my other boat up there. It is a J16 that has a 25 hp etec on the back (not my call, im a yamaha guy). I have read a few things regarding these boats but other than that, I do not know much on the specifics and I am new to owning a "microskiff" (have only owned larger flats/bay boats Ranger/pathfinder). So here are my questions, hopefully y'all will offer me some good advice:

25 HP etec tiller: no power/trim on this thing. It is a long shaft. What would you recommend? cmc power/trim or verticle jack plate?

Grab bar: I would like to add a grab bar that can accommodate my engel cooler as well. Besides having one custom made, any recommendations on pre-fab ones for sale?

Tiller extension: Just started looking for one of these as well, see many different preferences. Basically looking for a decent one, it doesn't have to be so high-end. Any suggestions?

Thanks

·
I Love Skinny Water
5,517 Posts
It's a CS dont over think it. Is the long shaft the wrong size for that boat?
If the,shaft is right just use it. Their rough to ride in but very skiny .Lots of fish have been caught in them

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanks for the reply. I think the shaft is ok for the boat but it hangs a lot lower then the hull which without a trim tilt or jack plate, I don't think that thing is going to be running that shallow. I picked it up a couple days ago so it is what I have to work with. Looking for advice on those who have put a trim/tilt plate on one or jackplate.

·
Registered
301 Posts
Hey guys,