building raised front deck ADVICE NEEDED.

Discussion in 'Bragging Spot' started by Panamakid, May 16, 2018.

1. Panamakid

Panamakid I Love microskiff.com!

Hi everyone,
    I am not sure if this is the correct section to ask but, I am interested in adding a raised front deck to my Carolina Skiff. I have attached a picture with dimensions.
    I have some fiberglass experience using epoxy (west system or system 4). I plan to use 1/2" marine plywood. The deck spans 78" across and 48" bow towards the stern. I need it to hold 2 grown men.
    • What size structural bracing you recommend?
    • I plan to glass/epoxy all sides of the marine plywood. Any recommendations on how many layers and of what weight cloth?

[​IMG]

Last edited: May 16, 2018
  2. Panamakid

I would like to add as little weight as possible.
    • Do you think 1/2" marine ply is too thick?
    • I think I can do this project with one sheet of ply. Any idea on how much epoxy and filler I need to order?

3. yobata

yobata I Love microskiff.com!

On my build, I made the front deck 6 foot long, and it spaned probably 58 at its widest. It was made using 3/8" marine ply. With epoxy, I used 12oz biax on the bottom of the deck and 6oz cloth on top. There are 3 supports spanning from gunnel to gunnel and two 1"x2" supports from bow to bulkhead. Here is a pic (red lines indicate the 1x2 supports as I didn't photograph these. Cut notches in the bulkheads/support that go from gunnel to gunnel to embed the 1x2s):
    front deck supports1.jpg

I'm a big man and have been on the deck with a buddy who is also 200#+

4. Panamakid

What material is the bracing (ply)? What kind of wood were the 1x2's?

5. yobata

bracing was 3/8" marine ply (same as the deck), the 1x2s were southern yellow pine (no fiberglass on those, but 3 coats of neat epoxy on them).

6. Boatbrains

Boatbrains Well-Known Member