Building a plug??

Discussion in 'Boat Yard Basics' started by Delmer, Jan 26, 2011.

1. Delmer

Delmer I Love microskiff.com!

I just bought my first microskiff and am planning some changes. The first is I want to remove both bench seats and build a small center console with a grab rail and a storage area / seat on the front. I am new to the world of fiberglass work but have woodworking experience. Once I build what I want out of wood how do I make it so that I can pull a console from it? Pictures will come soon of the boat and during the rebuild.

2. Brett

Brett > PRO STAFF <

Most important part...mold/plug has to be tapered
    wide at the bottom, narrow at the top, otherwise
    the fiberglass layup won't come off...

seen that happen a couple times... :D

How fancy are you going to make the console?
    Gloss finish or workboat finish?

http://www.fgci.com/howto/ht003fiberglass_mold.html

3. Delmer

Delmer I Love microskiff.com!

I really like the gloss finish but like I said no fiberglass experience. So which ever is easier. I still need to do some research maybe read a book or 2 and seek out some videos. I am thinking something simple like the one Mel uses on his Native skiffs only a little taller.

4. Brett

Brett > PRO STAFF <

I built a console mold for a 17 whaler using half inch plywood,
    pine 1x2's and formica. Came out pretty smooth.
    The formica was glued inside the plywood shape
    so the fiberglass layup matched the finish of the formica.

5. firecat1981

firecat1981 BBA Counselor

Just make it out of wood and glass it, it will be easier and once painted you won't know that it was hand built out of ply.

6. Brett

Brett > PRO STAFF <

Mahogany veneer plywood and spar varnish....purrrrty... ;)

7. jasonrl23

jasonrl23 Plays with Glass...

PVC board is a cheap waterproof option

http://www.bertram31.com/proj/tips/pvc.htm

8. twitch

twitch Well-Known Member