Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
I Love microskiff.com!
315 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just bought my first microskiff and am planning some changes. The first is I want to remove both bench seats and build a small center console with a grab rail and a storage area / seat on the front. I am new to the world of fiberglass work but have woodworking experience. Once I build what I want out of wood how do I make it so that I can pull a console from it? Pictures will come soon of the boat and during the rebuild.

·
> PRO STAFF <
7,520 Posts
Most important part...mold/plug has to be tapered
wide at the bottom, narrow at the top, otherwise
the fiberglass layup won't come off...

seen that happen a couple times... :D

How fancy are you going to make the console?
Gloss finish or workboat finish?

http://www.fgci.com/howto/ht003fiberglass_mold.html

·
I Love microskiff.com!
315 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I really like the gloss finish but like I said no fiberglass experience. So which ever is easier. I still need to do some research maybe read a book or 2 and seek out some videos. I am thinking something simple like the one Mel uses on his Native skiffs only a little taller.

·
> PRO STAFF <
7,520 Posts
I built a console mold for a 17 whaler using half inch plywood,
pine 1x2's and formica. Came out pretty smooth.
The formica was glued inside the plywood shape
so the fiberglass layup matched the finish of the formica.

·
BBA Counselor
7,205 Posts
Just make it out of wood and glass it, it will be easier and once painted you won't know that it was hand built out of ply.

·
Registered
90 Posts