Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
607 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm fairly new to this boating thing - just got my boat this past summer and decided it was time to give a little love to my motor. Only problem is that I'm (was) clueless about outboard motors. So I got with forum member boatbrains to show me the ropes. We did a pretty thorough going over of the motor - spark plugs, gear oil, water pump, engine oil, thermostat, fuel filter. There were no problems with the motor, but everything we touched definitely needed changing. Also did some other inspections - removed the prop and checked for wrapped up fishing line, adjusted the idle a little bit, and removed a old broken off impeller wing from a water line!

If you're new to boating like me, I would thoroughly recommend that you try to learn some of the maintenance that you can on your own motor. It sort of helps make it feel like it's yours, and it's a big confidence boost. Plus it was actually pretty fun.

Thanks, Boatbrains, for sharing some of your knowledge with me and my son. You're absolutely an asset to this forum and our community.

·
Registered
377 Posts
Good on you Boatbrains for helping a brother out! And good on you paulrad for taking the initiative to learn from someone who can help. Personally I wouldn't want to be 30+ miles from civilization without having confidence in my equipment and how it works, things can and will fail.

·
Registered
69 Posts
BB,
I have a 96 maverick mirage with a 90HP DFI Yamaha. Runs great, but a little sluggish up to plane. Would you consider using a 4 blade prop for something like this to help. I really don't care about running at Mach 10, so that is not an issue for me.

B

·
0 Posts
BB,