Boat building: Fairing

Discussion in 'Boat Yard Basics' started by oysterbreath, Nov 7, 2011.

1. oysterbreath

oysterbreath Well-Known Member

OK fellas, some of you have built multiple boats. Maybe you've used different fairing compounds. Which are your favorites and WHY? I've been thinking. People always want an easy sanding fairing compound but wouldn't that also mean it's easily scratched when finished? SO in the long run isn't a fairing compound that is a bear to sand better?

2. cutrunner

cutrunner Cert. Yamaha technician

Imo (and im not a pro) is that filler needs to flex, otherwise it will crack. If its too hard it wont flex. But a soft one is easier to damage, and sand. Its kinda your damned if you do, damned if you dont.. But i could be wrong.

3. WhiteDog70810

WhiteDog70810 Mostly Harmless

I only have a "n" of 1, but I can contribute to this discussion.

You're only laying down thin layers, so the fairing compound doesn't need to be as tough as the epoxy you use to tie the whole thing together. If you build up edges or lay fillets with it, you would probably have some structural issues, but when used as designed it is plenty tough enough. Once you lay your first layer of glass and you have to pretty up all the wood flour/epoxy boogers left over from fillets without gouging the underlying fabric, you will understand why coating the entire bottom with that stuff is a terrifying thought. I also find it is easier to sand 24 hours after it kicks vs next weekend. It does get a bit harder for a little bit after it kicks.

Protecting scratchable surfaces is the reason guys coat the bottom with graphite/epoxy. By all reports, you better have the bottom where you want it when you lay that stuff down, because it is a bear to sand.

Nate

4. DuckNut

DuckNut Brandon, FL