Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

Im fairly new to poling and picked up an old fiberglass pole of a buddy who had no use for it. Long story short about a foot and a half up the pole from the foot it snapped, so now i need a new pole. Can some of you more experienced guys point me in the right direction. I have a 98 16 bonefisher with a 90 4 stroke suzuki on it, so she isnt a modern day tech poling skiff. Specifically looking for solid reliable brands that will get the job done, as we as what lenght to get. I would prefer to keep the cost fairly low since im pretty new to poling in general. Also completely unrelated but does the foot style make a difference on certain types of bottoms? For example, does one foot style perform better on soft bottom than another? Im primarily fishing sea grass beds, and soft mud that will you will sink in if you step on it, but I occasionally fish over hard bottom. Gonna be chasing bones and permit in the keys and biscayne bay, as well as reds, snook, and tarpon in the glades.

Thanks for the advice its really appreciated by a younger less experienced guy like me.

·
I Love microskiff.com!
1,235 Posts
20-22' pole would be a good length. Stiffy hybrid is a really good all around push pole. From what I've read, Moonlighter makes a decent pole at a reasonable price. Try to get a carbon or carbon/glass blend pole. The lighter pole makes a huge difference.

The V or duckbill end is generally used on softer bottoms to give you some more area to push against. The pointed end is used on harder bottoms, like sand and rock. I have also found that the pointy end tends to be a little quieter if there is scattered shell/rocks where you are pushing.

·
Registered
27 Posts

·
Forgotten Coaster
2,415 Posts