Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
170 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to this form but though I would share a fishing trip I did to Turneffe Flats in Belize. I won the trip then paid some extra to stay longer since 3 days wasn't long enough for me. The places is filled with tons of bonefish ( mostly smaller fish), and plenty of shorts at permit and tarpon each day. Due to some user error I only landed 1 permit during the trip. It was also very hard to want to leave the tarpon to go look for permit. I would recommend this lodge to anyone looking for a great fishing trip to a tropical destination. ]

Attachments

·
Registered
170 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
I have not been to AC but some of the guys I was at Turneffe Flats with had some pretty bad experiences with other operations in Belize. I won't name names because I wasn't there but they said Turneffe was much much better. I would 100% recommend if you go to Belize to go to Turneffe. The only complaint I could think of is snappers eating my fly before the permit did (happened 3 times). Amazing fishing, diving, food, hospitality, guides they nail it all. If my bank account would allow I would go back every year.

·
I Love microskiff.com!
1,570 Posts
Who'd you fish with in AC? I've looking into Belize Fly there... would like to hear more about your trip.
I've been a handfull of times and done a lot of DIY fishing along the beachfront, and though the bones are super spooky, and not very big, its a lot of fun because i can, walk right out the front door to the water, carry a backpack full of beer with me and fish at my own pace. But, the few times I've hired some guides, they were not very prominent in the guide game down there, and ended up trying find mudding bones to blind cast to all day - not cool.

I think I would have had a much better experience if I booked through Tres Pescados or El Pescador.