Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
152 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been camping in the Everglades for a few years now but I have never visited any of the beach sites. I am camping out of a skiff and was wondering which beach sites are the easiest to access by boat?

·
Registered
152 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
they are easy to access via skiff, plan with the tides.
but you will have to register to camp.
Thank you. Yes I am aware of the camping permits. I specifically wanted to know about Highland Beach. I did notice that there was going to be about a 3ft tide swing when i am planing to go and if that would make it hard to beach a boat (7" draft). Also my buddy will have a a bigger boat that drafts 12-14" and was worried about him.

·
Registered
184 Posts
I had a friend get stranded on Highland many years ago. Anchored the boat, set up camp, tide went out and grounded the boat. Onshore wind came up and held the tide up from coming full in, for two days. I’ve camped at East Cape plentyof times, deeper water is closer by. You still need to keep a weather eye out. It can get serious quick.

·
I Love microskiff.com!
171 Posts
Had the same thing happen to me as a kid when camping on panther key. Ended up cutting some small logs and used them to roll my boat to the water. Short pieces of 1.5” or 2” pvc work well too

·
Registered
175 Posts
I usually find myself at New Turkey Key, plenty of water to deal with the tides on the north east shore. Set up a stern anchor and keep the bow in a few feet of water and you'll be golden.
Pavillion key has a pretty good beach on the east shore, not too sure about the depth there though.
Been there in my 21' Master Angler with no problem, just go slow if you dont know where youre going ;)

·
Registered
4,752 Posts