Awlgrip or Gelcoat?

Discussion in 'Boat Yard Basics' started by mboeder, Aug 8, 2012.

1. mboeder

mboeder I Love microskiff.com!

I am new in the field, but have sprayed several cars over the years. I am currently redoing my old trusty gheenoe; refiberglassing the holes along the bottom and changing the layout. Once all of the "body work" is done I am obviously going to spray her. I have been looking into Awlgrip, but question if gelcoat is the way to go? Like I said, I have painting experience, but it gelcoat any different?

2. mboeder

Also, will a quart be enough paint for the gheenoe exterior?

3. Snookdaddy

Snookdaddy Well-Known Member

IMHO (in my humble opinion) Awlgrip, awl the way...

To me, gel coat is best when initially lining a mold to make a new boat.. Once the boat has been pulled from the mold, Awlgrip of Imron is the best way to go.. Gel coat is inferior to 2 part poly paint and it is only used because it will harden without air..

4. jms

jms don't let common sense get in your way

gel coat:

2 types of gel : laminating gel coat,it will not fully cure if exposed to the atmosphere - after it's sprayed,it needs to be sprayed in PVA

air dry gel: this will kick,it has a wax in it that rises as it cures...

after the gel's kicked,it requires wet sanding,and compounding...

alot of work huh ?

awl grip:

make the required repairs,prime the hull properly,and,if you have the required equipment,squirt it !

5. mboeder

kinda sounds like awlgrip is going to be the way to go! So will 1 quart spray my boat? (15ft. gheenoe)

6. cutrunner

cutrunner Cert. Yamaha technician

A quart of awlgrip plus the needed reducer and converter could probably spray 3 gheenoes (the hulls, not the insides as well)

7. mboeder

Am I required to use awlgrip primer in order to use their topcoats?

8. Sheremeta

Sheremeta Well-Known Member

How long can a boat painted with awlgrip/awlcraft be left in the water and how does it fare with trailer bunks?

9. ASB73