Anyone have experience working with carbon fiber?

Discussion in 'Boat Yard Basics' started by Sheremeta, Apr 24, 2013.

1. Sheremeta

Sheremeta Well-Known Member

I'm thinking about doing some carbon fiber work and have a few questions. Can anyone help me?

2. CurtisWright

CurtisWright Light, Strong, Cheap. Pick Two.

What is the application? I have Zero experience with Carbon, but If I can talk you into using glass then I am sure I can help.

3. Sheremeta

Thanks. Can I laminate my front bulkhead with carbon fiber? It's for appearance only.

This is what I'm looking a
    http://compositeenvisions.com/raw-fabric-cloth-2/reflections-carbon-fiber-145/

4. Snookdaddy

Snookdaddy Well-Known Member

5. DuckNut

DuckNut Brandon, FL

Black fiberglass cloth would also be significantly cheaper as well and works the same as white.

6. Sheremeta

Thanks guys. I want to use real carbon and that reflections stuff will match my color scheme with the green. It's not a lot of area so I'm only looking at $90 for the cloth and $40 for the clear polyester resin. So will it stick to sanded glass? The top cap will hide the top edge and I was thinking about awlfair for the bottom edge to blend in with the deck then tape off and spray awlgrip.

7. DuckNut

DuckNut Brandon, FL

There is more to it than that. If you are looking to make it a high gloss then you have a lot of work ahead. The glass smooth surface is normally achieved from a mold. Without a mold it will take a huge amount of time to get that look.

There are some shortcuts. Post a pic of what you are trying to achieve and maybe I can help you out.

8. Sheremeta

Thanks. I want to laminate this bulkhead.
    [​IMG]

I would make a template out of cardboard then cut the sheet and lay it up. When it cures I would then cut out the holes for the rod tubes and sand them out and sand the entire sheet with 1000 grit until smooth. Can I continue to use resin and sand with 1000 grit until I get the glass effect?

9. AfterHours2