Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, though I love to fish salt water bays, I live in Nashville. My fishing is out of my kayak on St George Island or St Joseph bay. Love it. But I am 63 and kayaking can get old. So, I'm thinking retirement will be here soon and health permitting, hopefully fish more. But I have been looking and learning on these forums for over a year and strongly considering my first and probably only boat. I do not fly fish and I will not pole. Prefer a center console that can get fairly skinny but may accommodate 1 or 2 others. Doubt I will head into the ocean since I am not experienced enough to feel comfortable. Value stability more than "dry ride" into bay chop. So I am interested in any thoughts out there...and I have been told to rent if I do not go enough but I like the idea of having my stuff. Lt 25 has gotten my interest but so have other skiffs. Any ideas would be appreciated.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Big Frank's Outdoors is not too far from you, and he keeps several skiffs in stock. It might be worth a visit just to try a few on. I have a little Piranha P140, which doesn't sound like it fits your needs, but you are more than welcome to go for a boat ride anytime. We are a couple hours east of Nashvegas when it's warm, and NE FL off and on through the winter. My priorities with this particular boat were a bit backwards.....I wanted something that would fish the backwater, but it had to be towable with the boss' Subaru and needed to be cheapish since it isn't our primary boat. I certainly understand wanting your own equipment.

·
I Love microskiff.com!
595 Posts
Depending on budget and storage requirements, I’d look into the aluminum “bass boat” type skiffs that are rigged to be used in saltwater from a corrosion standpoint.

https://www.rangerboats.com/aluminum/intracoastal/rb-series/rb190.html