Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the forum and am a beginner saltwater angler. I have a few general questions about what one might be able catch in the Manasota Key area in February. This is my second trip down to the area in February, and I'll be there from the 7th to the 15th. We stayed in Englewood last year and caught a bunch of cool species including sharks down near Boca Grande. I'm wondering what species I may be able to catch if we tried surf fishing on the Gulf Side? I'm also wondering what species can be caught in the bay this time of year with any regularity?

I'm a cold water fisheries biologist who works for Trout Unlimited in the Mid Atlantic across Maryland, West Virginia, and Virginia. I'm willing to trade some trout tips or a trip with anyone who might want to swap some private messages.

I'm just looking for some general guidance, so I'm not stabbing in the dark.

·
Registered
234 Posts
Don't know anything about that area. Good luck! Sounds like a very interesting job you have there. I hope your helping the good fight! Gotta say I cannot wait to be back in WV! Love that state.

·
Registered
102 Posts
Hi Dustin,

Welcome to the forum! I grew up on Don Pedro Island (Palm Island), just South of Manasota Key. I wish I was home when you are in town. I would have been happy to take you out. Will you have access to a boat at all?

A lot of what you will catch depends on water temperature. We don't get a ton of Snook when the water is cool, but it is always possible.

Expect to catch Ladyfish, Jack Crevale, juvenile Blue Fish, and maybe even some Spanish Mackeral off the beach if the water warms up in time.

On the mangrove side, expect to catch speckled trout, black drum, and red drum.