Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
251 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a newb boater one could say, and the so.fl waters are totally new to me. I plan to fish biscayne, the park (both sides) and the upper keys mostly. I just got done on a refurb mav mirage '95 project and would like to get the FMT to give me some security when running these unfamiliar waters. Bigger is certainly better, however I would like to hear from current or former users of a 7 inch and FMT and hear there opinions. I just want something that keeps me on track and out of harms way and is functional, I don't have the luxury of a 12inch unit.

Thx

·
Registered
329 Posts
The cost difference between a 7 and 9 is negligible. Best to get a 9 and call it a day. If you get the 7, every time you use it you will be thinking..."Its good but would be a lot better with a bigger unit and I should have got the bigger one". Tiny screens work best with general ref maps because there is not much to see - they provide few important details with less accuracy and no precision navigation direction. Once you get something that actually shows what you hope to see with imagery that works, looking at it on a tiny screen isn't so great but its not immediately obvious until you see it on the bigger screen. Even a 9" screen is only 4.25" from top to bottom and 8.25" left to right. A 12" will fit fine if you use an appropriate mount. If you get the 7", keep in mind, most who have done that have switched to a bigger screen within 6 months and many of those went to a 12". Also, avoid any GO units.

·
You got to get burned to learn
431 Posts
Lots of discussion on that topic in this site. I am a 7 in Simrad Go7 user of FMT and it works great but bigger is better. If you can't go 9 in then just make sure you get a 7 in that has a knob zoom. It helps a lot to be able to zoom and out quickly.

·
Registered
321 Posts