Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im about to start ripping my Gheenoe down to nothing but the hull and no seats. I am completely new at boat restoration and this Gheenoe is just not set up the way I'd like it to be. I plan on building it as follows with a front casting deck with pvc pipes to store rod tips, one storage hatch for a battery, a trolling motor mount, a rear casting deck near the transom where the bench seat one was with storage underneath for the gas tank and possibly another battery for the power pole micro anchor. Id like to install a false floor with a yeti as a seat or for storage where the center bench seat used to be. I enjoy building things and Im good with tools but I'm just completely new to fiberglassing and painting over fiberglass. By no means am I dead set on these products or methods I'm really just posting this in hopes that someone can tell me what I'm doing wrong and what I should do instead and most importantly what products do I need to buy.

First thing I need to do is sand the paint off. I have read to start with an 80 grit or 120 grit and been told to only sand by hand.

After sanding I've read to use 1/2 inch marine ply or 1/2 inch composite material which I've been told is lighter and easier to work with but I've had no luck finding where to get it from.