1981 Johnson 35 HP "slipping" while in forward

Discussion in 'Outboard Maintenance' started by JHammond53, Aug 21, 2010.

1. JHammond53

JHammond53 Time to fish!!

Ok, I am not good at describing whats going on so I will do my best....

Was out fishing today and on the way back I heard a sound like I hit something (didn't really hit anything) then I started hearing noises coming from what sounded like the prop. I ended up limping it back to the dock and went home.

When I got home I was wondering if my prop spun, so I took off the prop and ran it with the ears. Put it in Forward and low and behold the prop shaft (no prop on) would spin then stop, then spin then stop, and I was hearing a funky noise. So I throw it back in neutral and all is fine. I throw it in reverse to see if it does it and reverse seems fine, no issues.

I then proceed to "troubleshoot" the issue by putting it into forward again. Funny thing is (and probably most important detail) is I can move the shift lever back towards neutral (not all the way but just right before it shifts back into neutral) and the shaft spins fine, and noise is faint/gone.

Any ideas?

2. aflatsnut

aflatsnut I Love microskiff.com!

Could be the gear on the end of the prop shaft. Drain lower unit oil and inspect, if you have metal shavings in it...not good.
    Also if oil looks milky, water has invaded your foot. Water is not a good lubricant.

3. Frank_Sebastian

Frank_Sebastian Well-Known Member

I think you have a problem with the shift dog. You can reverse the dog on the prop shaft and it will work for a while, but there is a groove on the dog to identify the front from the rear and OMC says not to reverse them. The metal is very hard so no repair is possible the only remedy being replacement of the shift dog AND gear. (OMCs not mine). I have replaced the shift dog only on my own engines and they worked fine for a long time never failing. They were older engines and saw a lot of use.

Frank_S

4. JHammond53