Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1967 Johnsen Skiff

6K views 22 replies 7 participants last post by  DuckNut 
#1 ·
Hey everyone. New member here but have been browsing the forums for a long time. I used to have a 1988 Gheenoe Classic that I sold a few years ago. I have decided to start a new project after looking at a 1967 Johnsen Skiff that had not moved from my girlfriends fathers garage in the last 2 1/2 years that I have know her. Got his permission to do a complete overhaul so we can use it in some of the creeks my flats boat can't get in to. I am going to try to post updates as I progress. This is my first project like this and am going to have plenty of questions I'm sure( I already have a bunch lol). So I started by stripping the boat down the the hull and grinding the gel coat down to fiberglass inside. Still have a few areas to finish up in the tight areas. My goal is to make a false floor and put a deck on it to look like my flats boats baby brother.

Some questions.
1) from what I have been told, this boat is polyester.  Can I use polyester resin to do this build or should I use epoxy? 
2) I have a hole where the bow eye was and looks to have ripped through, also about 12 holes in the floor of the hull where there was a livewell, I guess for drainage. What's the best method in dealing these?
3) I really don't know where to start when doing the false floor. There were no stringers prior but I plan on putting in 3 in the existing lines in the floor. What's the best method for making the templates to do this?
4) the last question(for now) is how much of the resin and 5/8" marine ply and whatever else I will need for this should I purchase?

Sorry for the long post just want to make sure I do this right. And as for now, I'm planning on ply instead of composites as this is going to be our beat around boat. Thanks for any help Yall can provide! Looking forward to learning a lot.
[/URL][/img]

See less See more
#3 ·