Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi gang,

Been lurking for a few years and have learned a lot by reading the threads here. I thought I'd start a thread on my project. I've been reading up and watching a ton of YouTube as I'm very new to this stuff. Hoping to get some advice from the crowd here. So this is my 1966 13 Whaler named "Flatty". I've caught a million fish on this boat and absolutely love it. But, its time for an overhaul. It is dry, and the gel coat was severely crazed due to prior owners leaving it in the sun, etc. Not an unusual issue for this era Whalers. I decided that rather than put lipstick on a pig, I'd grind off all the gelcoat and build her back up. I've now completed that task inside and out as you can see below.

As you can imagine, the process of removing the gelcoat also necessarily removes a bit of glass and I also made a few goofs along the way. Witness the very back corner where I ground through the glass. My current plan is to patch the goofs and fill holes, then add some fresh glass to the hull, fair, prime and paint with Alexseal (local Charleston company). Planning to use epoxy and paint.

The inside will be fun, because I'm planning to outfit her like a flats boat, with front and back casting decks, rear hatches, fuel up front, etc.

But, first things first. Some questions and feedback requested:

• Does my plan make sense? Use of epoxy. Make repairs, add glass, fair, prime, paint?
  • For adding glass, I'm new to the types of glass and would appreciate suggestions. Single layer of 1708, or a couple layers of woven mat? Other suggestions?
  • Will the steep contours cause me issues with glassing? Does it affect what type of glass I use?

That's enough for now. Thanks in advance for any input.
- Dave (Summerville, SC)

Wheel Plant Tire Vehicle Motor vehicle

·
Registered
2,602 Posts