14'6 johnsen project! (any help is needed!)

Discussion in 'Boat Yard Basics' started by racer04, Sep 15, 2013.

1. racer04

racer04 Fly or die

hello everyone I have a million questions. I know how to fish.... I do not know how to build boats I have a few older guys that said that they would help if I bought it, but now they are always convinently "busy" story of my life. I am using nida-core 3/4 in as structure for decks with polyester resin and "chop" or glass that goes every which direction. its already purchased.

I did a deck the other day and the glass crested over the side as soon as I figure out how to upload pics I will. sorry im new to this and will figure it out soon hopefully.

once again any help is awesome!

2. DuckNut

DuckNut Brandon, FL

3. racer04

racer04 Fly or die

in further description I first cut a piece of nida-core, honey comb, or plasticore whatever you want to call it down on a sheet of plywood under the assumption that it would stiffen up enough to then be fitting on top of the two open side and be flipped upside down (or glassed side down) to make it easier to glass in but it set up a little quick and now the resin is hardened and pointed in the wrong direction since it was glassed on top and faced down and now I cant set it in because of this. I guess I have to cut the excess off the edges like I had and start over but I do not know if I am aloud to glass back over already existing glass on top of the nida core to make it bond just as well as first layer

4. firecat1981

firecat1981 BBA Counselor

No mobile apps, just email the pictures to yourself and do it on your computer, it's really not a big deal.

5. racer04

racer04 Fly or die

thank you not using brain on that one

6. firecat1981

It's ok, took me over an hour to figure it out on my new phone.

7. firecat1981

It's just a computer, hell facebook it ten times more complex than this forum, and instagram, well.....no comment.