13ft running skinny?

Discussion in 'Prop Shop' started by wrv993, Feb 24, 2011.

1. wrv993

wrv993 I Love microskiff.com!

Hope i posted this in the right place. Just to start out... i really dont know much about outboards, but am learning slowly... (fished most my life from yak and wading) I have a 13ft gheenoe with a 2001 15hp 2 stroke yam. stock prop. Most people know these things float pretty damn skinny and you can pole them across anything. I just feel it should run shallower. I'm def not running in a foot. Probably at 16 inches i can run. Right now i have a mini jacker and a doel fin set up. If i mount the plate up any higher, i start to get prop blow out while running WO. I was wondering if there's any thing i could do to prevent this, or just any suggestions that would help me run skinnier? I've heard cupped props help cavitation? Again, im new to this so any information will help. Thanks

2. Brett

Brett > PRO STAFF <

Those numbers sound about right.
    The distance from the cavitation plate to the bottom of the skeg is 12 inches.
    Hull draft on plane is about the same as when at rest, figure 4 inches.
    So add 12 to 4 and you get 16 inches. It is what it is.
    If you want to run shallower, plan on spending a lot of cash.

Welcome to the forum... ;)

3. cutrunner

cutrunner Cert. Yamaha technician

Ohh how i want to find a 13 ft gheenoe and put front- rear decks in it with a 25 merc 2 stroke, power trim n tilt and put a tunnel in it.... Can anyone say run in 3inches? ;D ;)

4. wrv993

Thanks for the response. Yeah i figured there wasn't too much i could do, at least for a reasonable price. My buddies dad does have a CMC tilt and trim layin around the shop. Never heard of a 13 with one though, it seems to weigh a little over 20lbs... any ideas?

5. WhiteDog70810

WhiteDog70810 Mostly Harmless