13ft Prop Questions...

Discussion in 'Prop Shop' started by wrv993, Dec 14, 2011.

1. wrv993

wrv993 I Love microskiff.com!

I currently run a 13ft Gheenoe with a 15hp 2 stroke Yamaha. My jackplate is set a 6" of setback with about 3.5" of vertical lift, I also have a cavitation plate for my lower unit... the boat runs pretty good as is. I have been using the stock aluminum prop, and i've about torn it to sh*t over the past 2 years. I do not know much about props, so I was just looking for some input on stainless props, cupping, and what would allow me to perform better in shallow water. Thanks - Al

2. Brett

Brett > PRO STAFF <

I'd get a cupped aluminum.
    Stainless is thinner and tougher, but puts more stress on the gears.
    If you impact an aluminum blade, it bends easier than a stainless one.

3. wrv993

like i said... im not an expert on outboards. how exactly do i go about cupping a prop? do i need to take it in to a certain shop? any specific prop manufacturers? i do have a compression plate on my motor, will cupping my prop allow me to mount my motor even higher above my transom? thanks- al

4. Brett

Brett > PRO STAFF <

Information on props

http://www.formulapropeller.com/propellers.html

http://www.rundquist.com/PropTips_Cupping.htm

Cupping can be done by most prop repair/sales shops.
    Find a shop close to you and give 'em a call.
    Talk with the pro's about what you have and need.
    There are many brands pre-cupped available on line.

Using a cupped prop gave me one and a half inch mounting height gain over a stock prop,
    and increased my top speed by half a mile per hour. Big difference on a 9.9 merc 4 stroke.

;D

5. Gramps

Gramps Living &amp; Dying in 3/4 Time