13 Riverhawk- a few fiberglass ?'s

Discussion in 'Boat Yard Basics' started by bw77, Mar 29, 2009.

1. bw77

bw77 I Love microskiff.com!

Hi, I'm new to microskiff.com. I've been lurking for a while but haven't posted much. I recently bought a 13' Riverhawk thats in pretty good shape but I'd like to do some reinforcing and repair work to it. From what I can tell the boat has little wood in it, except for the transom which is in good shape. My point is there seems to be a lack of places to mount things to.  I can't really tell if the bench seats have wood in them at all but the glass seems to thin to just screw stuff into. I'd like to glass in some plywood to the backs of the seats to mount rod holders and a fire extinguisher. Also I will be adding a bow mount trolling motor and would like to mount a battery tray to the floor  in the bow. I've done some reading and it seems like epoxy resin is the way to go but what about the cloth? The boat has the chopped mat type cloth on the interior, should I just use that? Woven roving seems like it would be too smooth and not match. There are also a couple of repair patches I would like to redo eventually before I repaint her. Any advise would be appreciated.  Pics to follow   Thanks

2. B.Lee

B.Lee Well-Known Member

I would imagine the bench seats do not have any wood backing in them, they are likely foam blocks glassed into the hull for level flotation pruposes. Mounting anything substantial to them might not be the best idea.

the best option you might have is to add the mounting pad outside of the bench, by glueing a wood pad on, then laying some glass cloth over the top. I say cloth because I would recommend epoxy over polyester or vinylester resins, but that is my new personal preference.