Dedicated To The Smallest Of Skiffs banner

1 - 20 of 161 Posts

·
Registered
400 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Saw a few rebuild posts for Gheenoes going on around here so I figured I'd post mine up as well. The plan is to make it a shallow water machine since I fish Mosquito Lagoon mostly. Raised front/rear decks, small casting platform, and SMOOTH all over to keep fly lines tangle free. All composite materials, I hate wood in boats. You can see why in one of the pictures  :)
This is my first time rebuilding a fiberglass boat (i have 1 aluminum boat under my belt with a friend) so who knows how it will turn out!

I'm also on CG Forums as Flats_Broke with a build thread over there.

I picked it up a few months ago from a guy in Palm Bay. Front seat was cracked where it meets the hull, outside had some stress cracks on it, and it had some terrible "trim tabs" that were corroded to hell and back.

Anyway, below is a short timeline to where it sits today

First day I got her home

Removed fixed trim tab:

Aftermath of the trim tab removal:

Front seat cut out. Still needs more grinder work though..

Rear seat and center well cut out, ready for grinding.

Plascore cut for the front deck:

Battery tray and front bulk: This will have a buckle-strap inserted through it to house the 40 a/h gel-cell battery for the electronics (only minimal electronics like LED lights, bilge, and light trolling motor usage). Wiring will be run up the front and through the rub rails to the rear for bilge and rear lighting. There will be a hatch in the deck to allow access to the battery and storage. Battery will have a small battery box built for it as well at some point....

Front bulk in progress:

Looking in from the rear:

Hatch work on the front deck:

Rear bulk heads being built/fitted:

Rear bulkhead glassed in (the one further forward is just sitting there for now, glassed in where the seat was with two layers of mat and its very rigid now.